Aussie Heat Protectant and Shine Spray

Once upon a time, I was not a big believer in heat protectants. I never used them nor thought they would make any different in my hair routine. But one day I got curious and a I wanted to see what they big hype was about since many beauty blogs and youtube gurus were mentioning them. I was also tired of the split ends I would end from using a flat iron so often.

Before I get started, I’ll explain what a heat protectant is. Before using any heat tool (curling iron, flat iron, blow dryer etc.) it is important to use a heat protectant. A heat protectant coats your hair with a formula that prevents heat damage. Heat damage can be anything from split ends, breakage, and dryness. Many heat protectants also make your hair shinier and softer.

I’m not too familiar with Aussie’s products, so this would be my first time trying out an Aussie Product.

As instructed, I applied this before applying any heat to my hair. Instead of spraying it all of over hair, I like to spray it in my hands and then apply throughout my hair. I think that this method coats my hair more evenly with the protectant.  After putting the product in my hair I wait a few minutes for it to dry and set in my hair.

Almost immediately, I was able to notice a difference. When I don’t use a heat protectant, my hair is drier and less shiny.

My hair is much softer and shinier when using this heat protectant.

The downside to this product is that I feel like it attracts oil to my hair. Normally I was my hair every other day, but sometimes at the end of the hair I feel like my hair has a lot of oil and buildup. But I guess that should be expected since the point of a heat protectant is to coat your hair with the product.

I also was not a fan of the spray nozzle. It sprays in a straight line instead of a mist, but this isn’t a problem for me since I spray the product on my hands first anyways but for others who don’t the same it could be an issue since it means that the product sprays in a concentrated area of the hair rather than an even mist. I also noticed that if you spray too much in one spot it becomes sticky and a bit hair if it isn’t brushed out or styled.

 

2 responses

  1. I just bought the new Aussie Hair Insurance heat protecting shine spray and I was worried about what it might be like and this was amazing! 😀

Leave a Reply

