Garnier Fructis Wonder Waves

Normally when I buy any wave or curl enhancing products I try to find a gel or mousse of some sort. But I decided to try something different and opt for the spray to see if works the same.

The first thing I noticed about this product is the smell, it smells very fruity (like apples, maybe). A good smelling product is always a plus in my book.

Anyways, with a mousse or a gel, using it with fairly wet or damp usually isn’t an issue. But with a spray, like this product it is. I noticed that the more wet my hair is when I use it, the less likely it will work. If you’re planning on using it this with wet hair, you might want to wait until your hair is slightly damp.

Once my hair was fully dry, it felt like I had no product at all in it. Anyone who uses any gels or mousses would know that sometimes certain products make your hair crunchy, brittle, and hard. But this is not the case. After my hair dried I was even able to comb my fingers through my hair without ruining the waves.

But if you use too much of the product, you will indeed get that crunchy hair, so remember less is more.

The spray with not give you dramatic waves and it certainly will not substitute for creating waves with a curling iron. But it does create softer more natural waves, “beach hair” as we call it.

The downside to this spray is that it does leave some frizz. The product is only flexible hold so it will not eliminate all frizz.

After trying the product on both damp hair and dry hair, I have to say that it works much better on slightly damp hair. It does a decent job once your hair is already dry, but it’s better to have it on damp hair that way the product has more time to shape the curl.

A minor annoyance I had with this product is how sticky it is when used on dry hair. I had to constantly remind myself to not touch my hair. Plus, if you touch your hair to much when you’ve already sprayed it causes some tangles and frizz, so once you spray it you’re pretty much done adjusting your hair for that moment, until it dries completely.

Overall, the product does exactly what it says it does, it enhances waves. No, it won’t replace any heat styling tools, but it is a great alternative for those days when you just don’t have enough time to get ready. Just spray this on your slightly damp hair, scrunch it, and you’re good to go.

Leave a Reply

