Put the brush away

Put your brush in a drawer, you won't be needing it.

It has been approximately 4 months since I decided to stop brushing my hair.

I know that seems crazy, but trust me there is a method to my madness.  My hair is thick, wavy, and kinda curly. The more you brush hair that naturally has waves the frizzier it will get. Wavy and curly hair has a natural shape, the more you brush the more difficult it is to get back to that natural shape.

Since I’ve stopped brushing my hair, my hair is less frizzy and the curls/waves look much nicer and more defined.

Instead of brushing I just comb through my hair with my fingers when I’m conditioning.  A lot of you may think that my hair ends of looking crazy and tangled but it really doesn’t. It does take some getting used to but in the long run it does make your hair easier to style.  [in the future I’ll have a post about my shampoo/conditioning process].

So next time, you reach for your hair brush you might want to try using your fingers instead.

2 responses

  1. Totally agree, been doing that for years. I only brush it if I need it brushed for a hairdo or if I want it straighter. If its not brushed and you get caught in wind, rain, steam or high heat your curls just look better, unlike the frizz that happens as soon as you walk outside with brushed hair lol. I don’t mind frizz though, it can actually cue but it depends.

Leave a Reply

